Attachment 7-8 Fair Housing Complaint Information

Any individual or authorized representative who believes that the have been denied opportunities or treated differently due to their race, color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, disability, religion and/or familial status may file a compliant. The complaint may be filed with a number of agencies with authority to look into the matter:

- **Department of Local Government (DLG).** The individual may send a fair housing complaint to DLG within 180 days of the incident, simply telling DLG what happened. The grant administrator should work with the affected individual to resolve the complaint and, if that is not satisfactory to the individual, the administrator should assist in the preparation of the complaint and forward it to DLG.
- The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights or Local Human Rights Commissions. Anyone wishing to file a complaint alleging unlawful discrimination in violation of KRS 344 must file a complaint within 180 days of the alleged unlawful incident. In the case of discrimination by an employer or place of public accommodation or within one year of the alleged unlawful incident in the case of unlawful housing practices. Information on local human rights commissions may be found at http://kchr.ky.gov/Pages/Local-HRC-in-KY.aspx and contact for the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights is as follows:

Kentucky Commission on Human Rights
332 W. Broadway
Toll-free: (800) 292.5566
14th Floor
Fax: (502) 595.4801
TDD: (502) 595.4084

• The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO). At no cost to the individual, FHEO will investigate the complaint and try to conciliate the matter with both parties. The complainant's identity will be held in confidence unless written authorization is given provided allowing for the complainant's identity to be revealed. The time period for filing complaints ends 180 days after the alleged act. A HUD Housing Discrimination Form 903.1, which one uses to file a complaint, is provided as Attachment 9-7 to the KCDBG Implementation Handbook and is available on HUD web site.

You may file suit. An individual, at their expense, may file suit in Federal District court or state court within two years of an alleged violation or discriminatory practice. An individual may bring suit even after filing a complaint with HUD if the is not a signed conciliation agreement and an administrative law judge has not started a hearing.

It is the policy of both DLG and HUD to encourage informal resolutions as well as voluntary compliance and corrective action. Noncompliance may result in the termination of or refusal to grant Federal assistance.